Home Books 7 books to read when you’ve finished rereading the ‘Harry Potter’ series
7 books to read when you’ve finished rereading the ‘Harry Potter’ series

7 books to read when you’ve finished rereading the ‘Harry Potter’ series

0

I am in the process of reading through the entire Harry Potter series at the moment. It most certainly isn’t my first time reading it. It’s one of those book series that I keep coming back to time and again. What makes this time special, is that this time, I’m reading it to my kids. We’re going book by book, and once we finish one of the books, we watch the movie. Currently, we’re working our way through Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I’m getting a bit nervous as we get further on in the series, because one of my boys gave me a list of his favourite characters (ones he loves more than any of the others,) and let’s just say, he sure knows how to pick ‘em. Not a single one makes it to the end.

Reading my way through with them, there is a nagging question at the back of my head. Once we finish, what’s next? Now that my kids have discovered the love of books, how do I keep this fire stoked? And, for the grownup readers looking for a good book, what should we read? And so, I present my top seven (one for each Harry Potter book) list of books/series for those looking for their next magical fix:

The Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer

This series focuses on a preteen criminal mastermind going up against fairies. Magic meets tech in weird and wonderful ways. Also, Captain Holly Short has got to be one of my favourite badass fairies in recent memory. It’s also great for a protagonist to be more on the dark side. That’s what set this series apart for me. START READING

books like harry potter

Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson

I love a good origin story, and here, learning how Peter Pan came to be, and reading the roots of his conflict with Captain Hook is amazing. I loved it. Plus Molly, the adventurous girl who can (sort of) speak dolphin is awesome. START READING

harrypotterbooklistps

Everly by Meg Bonney

An ongoing series with a strong female heroine, and an eclectic and diverse cast of characters. We have adventure, mystery, and a magical land. All things I love. Waiting on pins and needles for the next installment. START READING

harrypotterbookliste

The Blackwell Pages by Kelley Armstrong and Melissa Marr

This trilogy follows the young descendants of Thor and Loki as they fight to protect Ragnarok in the small town of Blackwell South Dakota. It sounds bananas, but it’s a wild ride. START READING

harrypotterbooksloki

The Chronicles of Faerie by O.R. Melling

I have been recommending these books for as long as I can remember. The first book in this series was probably the first fantasy novel I ever read. I’ve gone back to reread it at least a dozen times so far, and The Hunter’s Moon only gets better with age. We have an average girl on an epic quest to save Faerie from the dreaded hunter. We have romance, intrigue, and adventure, and I love it. START READING

books like harry potter

For the adults out there — all the Newford books by Charles De Lint

I read them all out of order, and one of these days I will remedy that. But they are all amazing. Native American folklore meets Celtic as both cultures struggle to live together in a typical North American city. My personal favourites were The Onion Girl and Widdershins (which should be read in that order). START READING

books like harry potter

The Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce

Alanna of Tortall is one of my favourite heroines on the page. Her quest to be a knight was a real inspiration to me. She is the ultimate badass, and I adore her and her adventures. These books are a definite must read. START READING

books like harry potter

So, there you have it. Are there any others I should look for? I am always looking for a great read, so hit the comments below!

Ali Goldenberg

A YA Fantasy author and tv addict. She was first introduced to fandom when her grandmother introduced her to the television show “Beauty and the Beast” starring Ron Perlman. They had a standing date every week to watch together while eating ice cream sandwiches. Now, She’s (partly) moved on to writing her own stories and is the author of The Sitnalta Series and The Dybbuk Scrolls. Alisse lives in Toronto and is raising her triplets to be giant fans of science fiction and fantasy, just like their mom.